Here we see the Canal compound really taking shape mere steps from the Des Seigneurs bridge.

Up on the roof, you're a step closer to Heaven. The pool is tempting and the city glitters at your feet. After a long day, the perfect place to press the "Unwind" button.

Nine to ten-foot ceilings and an abundance of large windows give spaciousness a whole new meaning at Le Canal Phase II.

A glass of wine and a stunning view as evening settles over the Canal and the city. The perfect ending to any kind of day.

Phase II recalls its past with resolute modernism as it hovers near the Lachine Canal and the Des Seigneurs bridge.

The rue Basin will be a pedestrian walkway graced with verdant gardens and water rows

A two-storey lobby features classical lines with thoroughly modern features. An elegant waiting area for your guests and a stunning entranceway to all the delights Le Canal Phase 2 has to offer.

Nothing suits a modern, Italian-inspired kitchen better than a wide choice of hardwood floors, quartz countertops and high-end appliances.

A stunning landscape.

Sleek bathrooms include rain showers, frosted glass, quartz counters and ceramic tiles.

Let it snow. Let it freeze. Le Canal's indoor infinity pool sends cascades of warmth and soothing sounds to take the chill away. When the temperature warms up, the windows turn into patio doors that open up to beckon the sweet summer air. Truly, a pool for all seasons.

Between Phase 3 and 4 will be a beautiful interior courtyard for residents only. The perfect spot for lounging, socializing or just taking the air.

The two-storey gym has just what you need to get fit and stay fit. Not mention just what you need to work out the knots and the kinks – a dry sauna, a yoga room and a Jacuzzi.

Superior soundproofing and the comforting contours of the bedrooms make Le Canal Phase II a dreamy place to live – and rest.

LE CANAL

On the water yet grounded in the city.

Le Canal is a visionary residential condo project located on the shores of the Lachine Canal in historic Griffintown. It creates an oasis of calm that is just minutes from the heart of downtown.

The architects of Atelier Chaloub et Beaulieu have created a resolutely forward-looking development while incorporating its historic heritage through the the use of materials such as masonry and brick that blends in perfectly with its natural surroundings.

Landscaping holds a place of pride at Le Canal. Fully 47% of the site's surface area is devoted to landscaped grounds, and the development is flanked on two sides by federally-protected parkland, meaning that Le Canal's hallmark views and unique character will never be adulterated.

Le Canal is being built in four phases. Phases 1 and 2 are now under construction. When Phase 4 is completed, the complex will house 497 units running all the way from open-space condos to two-storey townhouses.

Among the other highlights of the site are a sun-dappled inner courtyard, pedestrian walkways with fountains and water rows, indoor and outdoor infinity pools, two fitness centres, a ground level bistro and a rooftop urban chalet.

ARCHITECTURE & DESIGN

The past becomes perfectly present

Built along the shores of the Lachine Canal in Montreal, an important waterway since 1825, Le Canal evokes its historical origins and still creates a clean, contemporary design. The top two floors of Phase 1 are recessed to optimize sunlight in the courtyards, and pedestrian walkways with abundant greenery, fountains and water rows have been developed to give residents a true oasis in the heart of city.

The use of space in each unit promotes optimal sunlight, while the abundance of large windows adds undeniable warmth. Units feature Italian-inspired open concept kitchen; bathrooms with rain showers, frosted glass and quartz counters; and 9- and 10-foot concrete ceilings and hardwood floors. Each living room offers great views of either the city, the Canal, the Parc de la Pointe des Seigneurs, or the Des Seigneurs bridge

LE CANAL IS BEING BUILT IN FOUR PHASES

Phases 3 and 4 are now under construction. When Phase 4 is completed, the complex will house 497 units running all the way from open-space condos to two-storey townhouses.

SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

Going on green.

Although the bright lights of the big city are mere minutes away, many people are looking for residences with an eye on a greener future.

To achieve this, our architects have spared no effort in creating a state-of-the-art complex offering the following benefits:

  • Efficient water management
  • Water-efficient grounds
  • Rain water management
  • Water-efficient sanitary fixtures
  • Eco-friendly building design
  • White roof
  • Mezzanine roof gardens
  • Use of low emission materials
  • Optimized energy consumption through superior insulation
  • Reduced light pollution through the use of outdoor cut-off lighting and reduced lighting power density
  • Accommodation of alternative modes of transportation
    • Charging stations for electronic vehicles in the outdoor parking area
    • Reserved parking spaces for Communauto members
    • Parking spaces for bicycles

LANDSCAPING

This landscaping grounds you

An extraordinary amount of thought and expense has gone into creating a complex where residents can easily escape from buzz and bustle of the busy lives they lead.

The choice of location was key. Le Canal is situated between two federally-protected park areas that can never be developed, guaranteeing that the project's hallmark views will never be impeded and its inhabitants never encroached upon.

Landscaped grounds take up 47% of the development's entire space, an astonishingly high percentage for any urban residential project. Residents have access a common courtyard and the Basin Street walkway with trees, abundant greenery, illuminated water rows, and fountains adorned with aquatic plants and flowers – a perfect pastoral setting that also makes it very easy to take advantage of all the delights to be found along the Lachine Canal.

TEAM

Les développements du Canal inc.

The team behind Le Canal is headed by Patrick Varin. It boasts more than 40 years of experience and has been responsible for the construction of more than 10,000 residential units on the island of Montréal. Some of its more recent projects include:

  • Cité Paul Sauvé (400 units)
  • Cours du Parc Laurier (800 units)
  • Parc Angus (800 units)
  • Bourg du Vieux (350 units)
  • Le Valencia (300 units)
  • Le Solano (800 units)

Atelier Chaloub Beaulieu Architectes

Renewal, modernity, intelligence and sustainable innovation. For two decades, those have been the defining words for the architects at Montreal’s Atelier Chaloub + Beaulieu who make workmanship and integration the priorities in all of their creations. A new project means a new concept, a new signature, one phase at a time. A collaborative approach that puts imagination at the forefront.

St-Louis Communications

St-Louis Communications lends its creativity and long experience to the Canal project. An expert in branding, the agency is a successful partner in Montreal luxury real estate. The company’s numerous accomplishments make it a valuable and enthusiastic member of the Canal team.

Agence RELIEFDESIGN architecture de paysage et design urbain

Professional, young and dynamic aRD combines great design capabilities to a sound knowledge of construction methods. The search for distinction, meaning and character is at the heart of our concerns. Concerned about the quality of the environment, aRD adheres to the principles of sustainable development. Their solutions are always practical, durable and aesthetic. They include a fine analysis of the intervention setting, the concepts of ecology and a multidisciplinary approach to ensure uniqueness the Canal’s project.

AMENITIES

Superior amenities from the ground to the rooftops

In addition to its brilliant landscaping, common courtyard and pedestrian walkway, Le Canal raises the level of its amenities with every phase of its construction. Among them, a state-of-the-art fitness centre in Phase 1, a two-storey fitness centre, and indoor pool in Phase 2, a ground-level bistro and a rooftop urban chalet in Phase 3, and a rooftop pool between Phase 3 and Phase 4.

Le complexe du Canal prend forme à quelques pas du pont Des Seigneurs.

Sur le toit, la piscine vous attend, à deux doigts du paradis. La ville scintille à vos pieds. À la fin de la journée, c’est l’endroit idéal pour s’étendre et se détendre.

Des plafonds de neuf à dix pieds et une fenestration abondante. De l’air et de l’espace. Une belle vie à perte de vue dans Le Canal Phase 2.

Le soleil se couche. Un verre de vin et une vue enivrante sur la ville et le Canal. La journée finit en beauté.

Rencontre harmonieuse de l’histoire et du modernisme, la Phase II se profile sur le Canal Lachine et le pont Des Seigneurs.

La rue Basin, un passage piétonnier agrémenté de jardins verdoyants et de parterres d’eau.

Élégamment classique et résolument moderne, le hall d’entrée sur deux étages est un lieu raffiné pour accueillir vos invités. Un avant-goût éblouissant de toutes les merveilles que recèle Le Canal Phase 2.

Le confort du bois et l’élégance de la pierre se conjuguent pour faire de la cuisine un lieu chaleureux où préparer de succulents repas en famille ou entre amis. Les équipements ultra-modernes s’harmonisent luxueusement au vaste choix de planchers, de comptoirs de quartz et de carreaux de céramique 12” x 24”.

Des jardins à couper le souffle.

Bien-être et art de vivre se retrouvent dans les salles de bains aux lignes épurées. Elles sont équipées de douches à jet de pluie, de panneaux de verre dépoli, de comptoirs de quartz et de carreaux de céramique.

Qu’il pleuve, qu’il neige, qu’il glace ou qu’il verglace, au Canal on se sent bien. Dans la piscine intérieure à débordement, on se moque de l’hiver et pendant la belle saison, les baies vitrées s’ouvrent grand pour laisser entrer la brise estivale. Ici, c’est l’été toute l’année.

La superbe cour intérieure entre les Phases 3 et 4, réservée aux résidents. C’est le lieu idéal pour relaxer, rencontrer ses voisins ou tout simplement prendre l’air.

Sur deux niveaux, le gym met tout en œuvre pour vous garder en forme. Pour le réconfort après l’effort, il dispose aussi d’un sauna, d’une salle de yoga et d’un Jacuzzi. Le conditionnement inconditionnel.

Parfaitement insonorisées, les chambres apaisantes du Canal Phase II sont des lieux de rêve pour le repos et la détente.

LE CANAL

Entre la ville et l’eau.

Le Canal est un projet résidentiel visionnaire sur les rives du Canal Lachine,
au cœur historique de Griffintown. C’est un havre de paix à quelques minutes du centre-ville.

Les architectes de l’Atelier Chaloub et Beaulieu ont créé un complexe qui allie le patrimoine
du quartier à une architecture tournée vers l’avenir. Grâce au choix délibéré de matériaux
de maçonnerie traditionnels et de briques, Le Canal s’intègre harmonieusement dans son environnement.

La nature est au centre du complexe et les espaces paysagers occupent 47% de sa surface. Bordé sur deux côtés par un parc fédéral protégé qui restera inconstructible, Le Canal conservera toujours son panorama somptueux et le cachet qui lui est propre.

Plus qu’un espace de vie, Le Canal est un mode de vie. Sillonné d’allées piétonnes, parsemé
de pièces d’eau, de fontaines et de jardins, c’est un lieu de détente qui offre une cour intérieure inondée de lumière, des piscines à débordement extérieure et intérieure, deux centres de conditionnement physique, un bistro au rez-de-chaussée et un chalet urbain sur le toit.

ARCHITECTURE & DESIGN

Le passé parfaitement présent

Construit sur les berges du Canal Lachine qui fait partie du paysage montréalais depuis 1825, Le Canal puise ses racines dans l’histoire et projette sa silhouette épurée dans un présent sans équivoque. Il mélange avec élégance la maçonnerie de pierre et de brique, le bois, le métal et le verre. Les deux étages supérieurs de la Phase 1 sont construits en retrait pour favoriser l’ensoleillement des cours intérieures. Les allées piétonnes longeant les jardins paysagers, les fontaines et les bassins ont été conçus pour offrir aux résidents une véritable oasis au cœur de la ville.

Au Canal, la lumière entre à flôts. Dans chaque condo, l’espace aéré et la fenestration abondante ont été conçus pour obtenir une luminosité optimale. Les cuisines à l’italienne sont ouvertes, les salles de bains offrent des douches à jet de pluie, des panneaux de verre dépoli et des comptoirs de quartz. Les planchers de bois et les plafonds de béton de 9 et 10 pieds accentuent encore l’atmosphère chaleureuse des résidences où chaque salon a une vue éblouissante sur la ville, le Canal Lachine, le Parc de la Pointe des Seigneurs ou le pont des Seigneurs.

LE CANAL SERA CONSTRUIT
EN QUATRE PHASES

Les Phases 1 et 2 sont construites et les phases 3 et 4 sont en construction. À la fin de la Phase 4, le projet comprendra 497 résidences allant du loft à la maison de ville en passant par le penthouse sur deux niveaux.

DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE

Le Canal se met au vert.

À deux pas des lumières de la ville, Le Canal est foncièrement citadin
et résolument respectueux de la nature.

Ses architectes ont déployé des trésors d’ingéniosité pour créer un complexe
à la pointe de la technologie éco-responsable offrant les prestations suivantes :

  • Gestion efficace de l’eau
  • Espaces paysagers économes en eau
  • Gestion des eaux de pluie
  • Appareils sanitaires à économiseurs d’eau
  • Construction éco-responsable
  • Toiture blanche
  • Toits jardins en mezzanines
  • Matériaux à faible taux d’émission
  • Isolation renforcée pour favoriser les économies d’énergie.
  • Dispositifs de modulation d’intensité et de déconnexion de l’éclairage extérieur pour réduire la pollution lumineuse.
  • Équipements pour les moyens de transport alternatifs
    • Bornes de recharge pour les véhicules électriques dans la zone de stationnement extérieure
    • Places de stationnement réservées aux membres de Communauto
    • Places de stationnement pour les vélos

AMÉNAGEMENT PAYSAGER

Un coin de paradis

Des quantités considérables de temps et de moyens ont été consacrées
à la conception d’un complexe permettant à ses résidents d’échapper au
surmenage de leur vie trépidante.

Le choix de l’emplacement était déterminant. Ainsi, Le Canal est situé entre
deux parcs fédéraux protégés et inconstructibles, une garantie que la vue exceptionnelle dont il bénéficie ne sera jamais obstruée et que rien ne portera
atteinte au cadre de vie de ses habitants.

Le complexe consacre 47 % de sa surface aux espaces paysagers, ce qui constitue
un pourcentage remarquablement élevé pour un projet résidentiel en zone urbaine.
Les résidents ont accès à une cour commune ainsi qu’à l’allée piétonne de la rue Basin. Ils sont entourés d’espaces arborés que parsèment des parterres d’eau illuminés et des fontaines où foisonnent plantes et fleurs aquatiques. Cet espace paradisiaque s’insère harmonieusement dans le paysage du Canal Lachine et prolonge tous les agréments qu’offrent ses berges.

L'ÉQUIPE

Une équipe à la mesure du défi

Les développements du Canal inc.

Sous la direction de Patrick Varin, l’équipe du Canal représente plus de 40 ans d’expertise dans le domaine de l’immobilier et 10,000 résidences sur l’île de Montréal. Parmi ses projets les plus récents, on peut citer :

  • Cité Paul Sauvé (400 résidences)
  • Cours du Parc Laurier (800 résidences)
  • Parc Angus (800 résidences)
  • Bourg du Vieux (350 résidences)
  • Le Valencia (300 résidences)
  • Le Solano (800 résidences)

Atelier Chaloub Beaulieu Architectes

Renouveau, modernité, intelligence et innovation durable. Tels sont les maîtres mots des architectes de l’Atelier Chaloub + Beaulieu de Montréal qui, depuis deux décennies ont su se démarquer par la qualité de leurs réalisations et leur intégration dans un contexte spécifique. Pour chaque projet, une signature, c’est l’approche participative de ses professionnels qui ont fait de l’imagination la cheville ouvrière de leur société.

St-Louis Communications

St-Louis Communications met sa créativité et sa longue expérience au service du projet Le Canal. Véritable bâtisseur de marques, c’est un partenaire performant dans le domaine de l’immobilier résidentiel de prestige à Montréal. Les nombreuses réussites auxquelles l’agence est associée lui permettent de prendre sa place avec compétence et enthousiasme au sein de l’équipe du Canal.

Agence RELIEFDESIGN architecture de paysage et design urbain

Professionnelle, jeune et dynamique, aRD possède une grande capacité de design ainsi qu’une bonne connaissance des méthodes de construction. La recherche de distinction et de caractère est au cœur de nos préoccupations. Soucieuse de la qualité de l’environnement, aRD adhère aux principes du développement durable. Leurs solutions sont pratiques et durables, réfléchies et esthétiques. Elles intègrent une fine analyse du milieu d’intervention, des notions d’écologie et une approche multidisciplinaire afin d’assurer l’unicité de du projet Le Canal.

PRESTATIONS

Des prestations très haut de gamme

Toujours plus ambitieux, Le Canal améliore ses prestations à chaque phase de son développement. En plus des aménagements paysagers extraordinaires, d’espaces vert en abondance, d’allées piétonnières et d’une cour commune, il offre un centre de conditionnement physique de pointe (Phase 1), un autre sur deux niveaux ainsi qu'une piscine intérieure (Phase 2). La Phase 3 abritera un bistro au rez-de-chaussée et un chalet urbain sur le toit. Quant à la Phase 4, elle ajoutera rien de moins qu’une une piscine extérieure la reliant à la Phase 3.