Griffintown

Griffintown is making history again

One of the oldest parts of the city has revitalized itself and become one of the most vibrant and exciting neighbourhoods in Montréal. Griffintown, or “The Griff” as it is affectionately referred to, was originally populated by Irish immigrants who contributed enormously to the construction of the Lachine Canal. Over the years, it has spawned figures of importance on the Canadian and international landscape, including Thomas D’Arcy McGee, William Dow, brewer of one of Canada’s most iconic brands of beer, and Oscar Peterson, the world-renowned jazz pianist.

Recently, the area has witnessed an influx of artists, musicians, film production houses, hi-tech enterprises and educational institutions. In their wake, a host of restaurants, cafés, tea houses, galleries, antique shops have sprung up. Not to mention an abundance of real estate development projects and condos.

“The Griff” is back and bustling.

1600-1792

In early colonial days, native people used the Lachine Canal as a fur trading corridor (they would arrive from the southern tip of the city and head to the Mount Royal trading post). In 1792, Thomas McCord obtained a 99-year lease on the Nazareth Fief from the nuns of Hotel-Dieu

1804-1815

In 1804, the Nazareth Fief was sold to a Mrs. Mary Griffin by an unscrupulous associate of McCord’s while the latter was away in Great Britain attending to business. The Griffins built the first streets on the land, which was reclaimed by McCord in 1814 after a long legal battle. The area kept the name of its former owners, Griffintown, but also became known as St-Ann’s ward.

1825-1900

Work began on the Lachine Canal on July 17, 1821 and it was opened for navigation in 1825. Griffintown took on a distinctly Irish character in the 1840s as floods of immigrants arrived, to escape starvation in their homeland and to work on the construction of the Victoria Bridge. By mid-century, Montreal had become a thriving metropolis, with Griffintown as its industrial heart. In 1870, 4,089 people worked in the area. Unfortunately, due to poor working conditions, Griffintown’s inhabitants were plagued by poverty, malnutrition, and a high infant mortality rate.

1900-1920

After WWI, jazz swept the southwestern part of Montreal and many African Americans moved to Little Burgundy, next to Griffintown, finding work as bellboys at the train station. World renowned jazz pianist Oscar Peterson grew up in Little Burgundy. Sadly, the good times would soon come to an end as the Great Depression hit, causing businesses to close and people to lose their jobs. Buildings became dilapidated and life, hard. The use of coal for energy also caused extensive pollution and health problems for area residents.

1920-1929

The industrial revolution sweeping the Lachine Canal didn’t necessarily lead to social justice. In 1900, a family of five needed $9.64 per week to meet its most basic needs and $13.77 for all others. Yet men only earned an average of $7.78 per week and women, $3.65 per week. Many women and children had to work simply to make ends meet. When associations promoting workers’ rights were created at the turn of the century, working conditions and the lives of Griffintown residents improved slightly but remained precarious.

1930-1959

From bad, to better, to worse. Griffintown eventually emerged from the Great Depression to enjoy a somewhat better economy during and after World War II, in large part due to arms production for the war. However, with the construction of the St. Lawrence Seaway in 1959, the Lachine Canal lost much of its usefulness, and factories left, along with many residents.

1960-1970

In 1965, Griffintown was dealt another harsh blow with the construction of the Bonaventure Expressway, which cut it off from the rest of the city. When the Lachine Canal closed in 1970, most businesses left and 20,000 workers lost their jobs. The Irish regretfully left the area and many buildings were demolished.

1970-2013

Griffintown was all but abandoned for 20 years, until the 1990s, when it slowly became a haven for artists. Yesteryear’s rundown neighbourhood is gone. Today, Griffintown is synonymous with an eclectic mix of residents, a sparkling sense of community, and a taste for the good things in life.

Griffintown

Griffintown en plein essor

Griffintown n’en finit pas de surprendre et de séduire. Rajeuni, réinventé, débordant de vie, ce quartier, un des plus anciens de Montréal, est aussi un des plus animés. Affectueusement surnommé « The Griff » par ses premiers habitants, des immigrants irlandais venus pour construire le Canal Lachine, le district a abrité des personnalités dont la renommée a largement dépassé ses limites. On peut citer Thomas D’Arcy McGee, l’un des fondateurs de la Confédération canadienne, le brasseur William Dow qui a donné son nom à l’une des bières les plus réputées du Canada et le pianiste de jazz Oscar Peterson.

Aujourd’hui, on y retrouve de plus en plus d’artistes, de musiciens, de maisons de production, d’entreprises de hi-tech et d’établissements d’enseignement. Il foisonne de restaurants, de cafés, de salons de thé, de galeries d’art, de magasins d’antiquités et de projets résidentiels.

Griffintown. Un quartier plus vivant que jamais.

1600-1792

Au début de la période de colonisation, les peuples autochtones utilisaient la région du Canal Lachine comme couloir pour le négoce de la fourrure. Arrivant à l’extrémité sud de la ville, ils l’empruntaient pour se rendre jusqu’au poste de traite du Mont-Royal.

En 1792, les Sœurs de l’Hôtel Dieu octroyèrent à Thomas McCord un bail 99 ans sur le fief Nazareth (l’ancien nom de Griffintown).

1804-1815

En 1804, profitant de l’absence de McCord alors en voyage d’affaires en Grande-Bretagne, un de ses partenaires sans scrupule vendit le fief Nazareth à Mary Griffin. Ce sont ces mêmes Griffin qui construisirent les premières rues de l’agglomération, avant de devoir la rendre à McCord en 1814, à l’issue d’une longue bataille juridique. Griffintown conserva cependant le nom de ses précédents propriétaires tout en adoptant aussi celui de quartier Sainte-Anne.

1825-1900

Les travaux de construction du Canal Lachine commencèrent le 17 juillet 1821 pour s’achever en 1825, année de son ouverture à la navigation. Dans les années 1840, Griffintown prit une identité résolument irlandaise avec l’arrivée massive d’immigrants venus pour construire le Pont Victoria et fuir la famine qui sévissait alors sur leur terre natale. Au milieu du 19e siècle, Griffintown constituait le centre industriel de Montréal, une métropole déjà florissante. En 1870, 4089 personnes travaillaient à Griffintown, dans des conditions insalubres, en proie à la misère, la malnutrition et victimes d’un taux élevé de mortalité infantile.

1900-1920

Après la Première Guerre Mondiale, on voit arriver le jazz dans les quartiers du sud-ouest. C’est principalement dans le quartier de la Petite Bourgogne, voisin de Griffintown, que la communauté noire s’installe, notamment pour travailler comme porteurs de bagages à la gare. C’est là que grandit Oscar Peterson, célèbre pianiste de jazz montréalais reconnu mondialement. Malheureusement, l’effervescence tire à sa fin puisque la crise touche durement le quartier industriel et plusieurs habitants perdent leur emploi. À cette époque, les bâtiments ouvriers sont vieillissants et les conditions de vie sont rudes. L’utilisation du charbon comme source d’énergie crée aussi une grande source de pollution qui nuit grandement à la santé des habitants.

1920-1929

Sur le Canal Lachine, la révolution industrielle ne contribua pas particulièrement à la justice sociale. En 1900, une famille de cinq personnes avait besoin de 9,64 $ pour assurer sa seule subsistance et de 13,77 $ pour faire face aux dépenses supplémentaires. Malheureusement, le salaire moyen hebdomadaire était seulement de 7,78 $ pour les hommes et de 3,65 $ pour les femmes. Cela signifie que la plupart des femmes et des enfants devaient travailler pour subvenir à leurs besoins les plus élémentaires. Au début du siècle dernier, des associations furent créées pour protéger les droits des travailleurs. Elles contribuèrent à une légère amélioration des conditions de vie et de travail à Griffintown. Les habitants continuèrent cependant à vivre dans la plus grande précarité.

1930-1959

La Crise de 1929 ne fit qu’empirer les conditions de vie à Griffintown. Il fallut attendre la deuxième guerre mondiale pour que l’économie montre des signes de reprise, grâce à la production d’armes de guerre. Cependant, en 1959, le Canal Lachine souffrit de la construction de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent qui le rendit inutile. Les usines désertèrent ses berges, emportant avec elles une grande partie de la population.

1960-1970

En 1965, jouant de malchance, Griffintown dut encore affronter une épreuve. En effet, l’autoroute Bonaventure nouvellement construite, contribua à l’isoler du reste de la ville. À la fermeture du Canal Lachine en 1970, la plupart des entreprises furent contraintes de fermer leurs portes et 20 000 personnes perdirent leur travail. Les Irlandais quittèrent Griffintown à regret et de nombreux bâtiments furent détruits.

1970-2013

Griffintown fut abandonné pendant 20 ans, jusqu’aux années 1990. Les artistes commencèrent alors à affluer dans le quartier et lui donnèrent un nouveau souffle. Les rues désertées de naguère fourmillent maintenant de vie. Les nouveaux résidents se côtoient dans un joyeux métissage culturel et partagent un même sens d’appartenance et un même goût pour les bonnes choses.